Bloom’s Taxonomy: An Oldie but a Goodie

Posted: October 17, 2013 in Education, Pedagogy, Reflection
Tags: ,

Recently I have had the need to reflect upon and to deconstruct my teaching. Yes, I have been teaching for a while and, No I don’t intend to leave the profession. But why have I had a need to think backwards in some people’s views?

The reason lies in the fact that since January of this year, 2013, I have been teaching in a different country from where I trained and gained many years of experience. This has meant that I have had to learn about new ways that teachers are accredited, how they are observed and how important, in some situations, performance management is. The last part of the reason is that I have also recently chosen to work through mentoring a Trainee Teacher through their PGCE year in their quest to become an accredited and qualified teacher here in the UK. For all my Aus colleagues this is halfway between being a University Practicum student and the first year of the being a New Scheme Teacher with the NSW Institute of Teachers. So what is the point of this I hear you thinking……


(Source: TES)

The purpose of this post is come back to one of the oldest things I remember being forced to learn about when I was at University, Bloom’s Taxonomy. At first I wondered ‘what is the use of this?’, later I tried to remember what it was so I could add some depth to student understanding, and now I stealthily use it as an underpinning of most lessons and question sequences. I have had the fortune of being a teacher through the times from pre-digital learning to now, a time of digital understanding and citizenship. This in turn has brought with it many guises of Bloom’s Taxonomy through to include the Digital Bloom.

I have included a link to a very good poster that shows the basic elements of the taxonomy from TES (click on the image at the top). This poster is excellent in that it includes the levels of thinking required, keywords and some questioning examples. It does unfortunately not include one of the recent developments of Bloom’s, Creativity. All of the elements of the original and many of the more recent versions are important to understand and to be able to use when it comes to teaching. As I have been finding, it is a principle which is a part of the International language of education. It is one that I have grown to believe in, borrow from and teach with. I try to refer others back to it as a support block and it is an important of any experienced teachers’ toolkit. It can be built into any pedagogical approach or model and is something that I hope you take time to work with and to understand.

Comments
  1. […] Recently I have had the need to reflect upon and to deconstruct my teaching. Yes, I have been teaching for a while and, No I don't intend to leave the profession. But why have I had a need to think backwards in some people's …  […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

